IPL Full Form Name: IPL Meaning

Full Form of IPL :

Indian Premier League

IPL Full Form is Indian Premier League. This league was formed in 2008 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). IPL can be termed as the professional 20-20 cricket league which is played or contested on a yearly basis. All franchise teams that represent Indian cities participate in IPL each year. Cricketers from all cricket playing nations do participate in IPL making it one of the most-watched T20 league in the world.

There are totally 11 teams that compete in the IPL tournament. And out of these 11 teams, 5 teams have won the IPL league at least once. Some of the teams that won IPL include; Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers and Chennai Super Kings. The league is normally scheduled in April and May ever year. IPL is the first sporting event which was broadcasted live on YouTube.

IPL Full Form – Additional Information

One of the biggest events in the cricket world is the Indian Premier League. It has everything in place: cricket, large-scale audience, fashion, and money. It is, therefore, one such event that creates most of the buzz in India and abroad every year. Indian Premier League, which will hereinafter be referred to as IPL throughout the article, refers to the professional T20 cricket league that is based in India.

Many franchise teams participate and compete in this league every year to win fame and prizes. The founder of the IPL is Lalit Modi, who is the member of one of the most influential sports bodies in the world—Board of Control of Cricket in India (abbreviated as BCCI). IPL is slated to happen in the months of April and May every year. As of the year 2016, the official sponsor of the league is Vivo Electronics and hence the official name of the league for the same year, which was Vivo Indian Premier League.

One notable feature of IPL is that it is the most watched cricket league in the entire world and has found a place at the sixth position among several other sports leagues. What is more, in the year 2010 a breakthrough event happened as it became the first ever sporting event which provided for live broadcast on the leading video streaming website, YouTube. American Appraisal, a Duff & Phelps’ division, evaluates the total worth of IPL at around US$3.5 billion.

In the year 2015, BCCI reported that the contributions of the IPL 2015 to the country’s Gross Domestic Product (Abbreviated as GDP) stood at Rs. 11.5 billion. Thus, IPL is not a mere sports event to be forgotten and remembered cyclically.  All of this brings us to one conclusion that IPL needs to be seen as more than just a sports league. It has immense viewership, value, and contributions, which together make it all the more an important subject of discussion. So, here are five points about IPL that everyone, whether or not a cricket enthusiast, must know:

Foundation of IPL

It is important to know the history behind the creation of IPL, which eventually became one of the most sports leagues in the world in a short span of time. In the year 2007, the Indian Cricket league (abbreviated as ICL) was established, which Zee Entertainment Enterprises funded. ICL, however, did not obtain recognition from the International Cricket Council (abbreviated as ICC) as well as the domestic cricket board BCCI.

The latter considered ICL a rebel body and carried out several activities to prevent organization of ICL tournaments. To rival the ICL, Lalit Modi was shouldered with the responsibility to carve out a T20 league. Eventually in the year 2008, the launch of IPL was announced. The IPL is based on the model of National Basketball Association (abbreviated as NBA) of the United States of America and Premier League of England.

For the purposes of finalizing the owners of cricket teams, an auction was conducted on January 24, 2008, which saw participation from different spheres, including the entertainment industry. The teams were based on cities Delhi, Bangalore, Jaipur, Delhi, Hyderabad, Mohali, Kolkata, and Mumbai.

In the year 2010, IPL announced the launch of new franchises, namely: Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Pune Warriors India. Pune franchise was bought by Sahara Adventure Sports whereas the Kochi franchise by Rendezvous Sports World. However, a  year later, the Kochi franchise was cancelled because of violations of terms and conditions of BCCI.

In the year 2012, the franchise Deccan Chargers was terminated. An Auction was held for a replacement franchise’s owner, which eventually was Sun TV network. The team was named Sunrisers Hyderabad. In the year 2015, another two original teams—Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals—were suspended for their alleged role in betting and match fixing. The suspension is for two seasons of IPL. The teams have been replaced by the Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants.

Format of teams in IPL

There are eight teams in IPL presently. Every team is required to play against each other twice in a round-robin tournament. Following the matches, top four teams will qualify for the final rounds. To decide the finalists, the top performing teams will be pitted against each other, with the winner of the match going straight to finals and the loser team going to the second preliminary round. The first preliminary round is conducted between third and fourth best performing teams. The winner will then proceed to the second preliminary round. The winner of this round makes it to the finals. The winner of the finals is the winner of the Indian Premier League for that season.

Tournament and salary matters

In IPL, a team can be acquired by means of five methods: signing domestic players, annual auction, signing uncapped players, signing replacements, and trading players. In case of trading, the consent of the player is essential and the franchise is liable to compensate for the difference, if any, between the new and the old contracts. In case the new contract is more profitable, the difference is shareable between the franchise which has sold off the player and the player. The following are some of the essential rules to be observed by every team:

  • The minimum strength of the team is set at 16. There must be a coach and a physiotherapist.
  • There can only be at max 10 foreign players in the team and at max four such players will be playing at a time.
  • There must be minimum 14 players in the team.
  • There must be at least six under 22 players in every team.

IPL games make use of television timeouts and thus, there is no time bar on teams for competition of their innings. There is, however, the penalty for taking undue benefit of the same. Every team is granted a strategic time out of two and a half minute in every innings. There are policies regarding remuneration and salaries fixed by the BCCI applicable on all teams.

Individual awards in IPL

The following are some of the individual awards given to players:

  • Orange cap, which is given to the top run-scorer in the current season of the IPL.
  • Purple cap, which is given to the top-wicket keeper in the current season of the IPL.

Issues relating to the governing body of IPL

The governing body of IPL is responsible for overseeing the organization of the matches. However, lately, IPL has been mired with controversies regarding its active engagement with match fixers and in corrupt actives. Many have claimed that IP has seriously damaged the reputation of Indian cricket domestically and internationally. In order to remedy the wrongs, the Supreme Court has instituted a one member Lodha Committee, which has given several recommendations regarding the constitution and functions of both the BCCI and the IPL.

error: Content is protected !!